

## **Highway Policy Committee**

CHAIRMAN: Adam Blanchard, Shareholder and Managing Member, Double Diamond Transport, Inc. TCA STAFF LIAISON: David Heller, Caitlin Smith

### **MINUTES:**

MEETING DATE:	Sunday, March 5, 2023
TIME:	8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. EST
PLACE:	Gaylord Palms Orlando

#### MEMBERS PRESENT

Atwater, Jordan Beacom, Joe Blanchard, Adam Burch, Kevin Chrulski, Tim Culp, John Dellinger, Dennis Dittmer, Brenda Durocher, Andre

#### **GUESTS PRESENT**

Altanova, Tamira Amhof, Randy Amhof, Roger Anderson, Al Atkins, Jack Bernstein, Soona Bramlage, Kyle Bush, George Canevello, Mike Cangemi, Richard Castro, Armando Chiappetta, Daniel Chitwood, Tim Christenson. Don Coast, Darren Cordova, Ron Cravens, George Davenport, Jay Davis, Jeffrey Deck, Wiley Dema, Jeff Dittmer, Barry

Edmondson, Amber Freeman, David Frolick, Mike Hodges, Tommy G. Hopkins, Darrel Kretsinger, Bob Kurtz, Trevor Manthey, Scott Nagle, Ed

Douglass, Jason Drapeau, Brent Ebosh, Henry Elliott. John Ercanbrack, Luke Gillette, Patti Glasgow, Mark Glasgow, Mike Gulker, Chris Haight, Ray Hall, Brian Hardy, Clint Hedstrom, Mike Hogan, Joey Humphries, Kyle Jenkins, Peter Koppen, Andrew Krause, Josh Luxton, Lucas Mallory, John Martin, Trevor Maschmeier. Jill

Newell, Dean Penner, Rob Smerchek, Karen Spangenberg, Glynn Stockeland, Jim Swedberg, Konor Votroubek, Lance Williams, Dave Wingerter, Nicholas

Mewhinney, Heather Morin, Graig Nadeau, Kevin Nesbitt. Jason Nixon, Kevin Ochy, Daniel Pantuso, Janet Patwardhan. Manohar Pearson, Amanda Peckham, Bob Pitzel, Garth Potthoff. Jeff Pottle, Barry Prevost, Bill Randall, Scott Reeves, Jeff Renfrew, David Resta, Ken Runners, Brian Russell, Jon Sabler, Ken Sewell, Jay

Seymour, Mark Shah, Ronak Singleton, Derick Smith, Jana Smith, Joe Spalla, Mike St. Paul, Rick Surber, Marilyn

#### TCA STAFF

David Heller Caitlin Smith Jim Ward Eddie Wayland Surber, Marilyn Tompkins, Eric Topping, Geoff Torres, Somer Trawick, Jakira Van Alstine, Dan Villanueva, Elias Vise, Avery Vose, Brandon Walker, Mark Walker, Ty Whitson, Jared Wnuk, Mark Woodring, Stephen Zane, Jon

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman Adam Blanchard called the meeting to order at approximately 8:30 a.m. EST. Due to the high attendance, Blanchard forwent the verbal roll call and asked committee members and guests to record their names on the sign in sheet. Then, a motion was made, seconded, and passed to conduct the meeting according to the antitrust guidelines. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the minutes of the previous meeting on September 12, 2022.

Blanchard reminded attendees that the event dates for the Fall Business Meetings have changed to September 25-26, 2024, in Washington, DC to avoid interfering with National Truck Driver Appreciation Week.

#### II. Midterm Election Outlook – Missy Edwards, MME Strategies

TCA lobbyists Missy Edwards and Richard Sullivan provided an overview of expectations for the 118<sup>th</sup> Congressional Session, including a breakdown of Congress post-midterms. The pair briefed the committee on legislative priorities for each political party, including areas where compromise could possibly be struck. Edwards and Sullivan specifically addressed key issue areas related to infrastructure, transportation, and labor. Lastly, they discussed upcoming elections in the Senate and detailed important races to watch.

#### III. Discussion of Federal Excise Tax – Brenda Dittmer, Weinrich Truck Line, Inc.

Last committee meeting, the Chairman established a subcommittee to review and put forth a formal policy for the association regarding the repeal of the federal excise tax. Committee member, Brenda Dittmer, was tapped to chair the subcommittee, which met several times. Dittmer listed and thanked the subcommittee participants and then read aloud the proposed policy: "TCA supports the repeal of the 12% federal excise tax (FET) on trucking equipment, on condition that the revenue it generates for the highway trust fund is replaced by either general revenue transfers or an appropriate increase in federal fuel tax, or a combination of both. Fuel taxes for consideration should include diesel, electric, hydrogen, or other emerging types of fuel.

The FET is an antiquated and discriminatory tax, initially adopted over 100 years ago to help pay for World War I, wherein it first applied to all vehicles but today is only imposed on heavy-duty trucks. Since its initial implementation, the tax burden has steadily risen and now increases the cost of new heavy-duty trucks and trailers by \$22,000 on average. By driving up the cost of equipment, the tax hinders fleet investment and delays the purchase of safer and more fuel-efficient trucks."

Chairman Blanchard then asked the committee to consider the policy. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the language and present it to TCA's Board of Directors.

# IV. Briefing on EPA Low NOx Rule – Caitlin Smith, Manager of Government Affairs, TCA

TCA's Caitlin Smith briefed the committee on the EPA's new emissions standards for heavy-duty trucks. Smith discussed the larger trends in the administration's truckingrelated environmental regulations and industry reaction to the strategy. She also addressed TCA's concerns regarding the low NOx rule and reviewed how the association presented its position in comments filed to the agency, as well as in discussions with policymakers on Capitol Hill.

#### V. SHIP IT Act - David Heller, Senior VP of Safety and Government Affairs, TCA

TCA's Dave Heller gave an overview of the SHIP IT Act, a supply chain bill that provides investment for truck parking, tax credits for drivers, weight exemptions, and more. Heller presented the details of the legislation and discussed TCA's position on each portion, most notably on the issue of truck weight.

#### VI. Old/New Business

Chairman Blanchard brought to the committee's attention a Texas-based pilot program on vehicle-miles-traveled tax that is gaining traction within the state's transportation agency.

There was no old business to discuss. Chairman Blanchard requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion was made, and the meeting was adjourned at approximately 9:30 a.m. EST

#### VII. Adjournment